German Honor Society: Delta Phi Alpha (ΔΦΑ)

Delta Phi Alpha (ΔΦΑ) logo

Delta Phi Alpha (ΔΦΑ), the National German Honor Society (Deutsche Ehrenverbindung), recognizes excellence in the study of German and seeks to provide an incentive for higher scholarship. The society aims to promote the study of the German language, literature, and civilization, and to emphasize those aspects of German life and culture which are of universal value and which contribute to humankind's eternal search for peace and truth. Delta Phi Alpha was founded in 1929 at Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina. Currently, chapters are active at over 270 colleges and universities in the United States. Stanford University’s chapter, Lambda Mu, was established in 2002.

Students are nominated by Stanford Language Center lecturers and DLCL faculty members based on the criteria below.

  • Minimum of two years of college German language courses or the equivalent
  • Completion of at least one German Literature course
  • Minimum 3.3 GPA in German language and literature courses
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 2.7
  • Indication of continued interest in the study of German
  • Graduating senior

Inducted 2024

  • Jonathan Laderman
  • Nicholas Rosenbaum
  • Jordan Rothkowitz
Inducted 2023
  • Joey Christopher Clough
  • Madeleine Leigh Fischer
  • Micaelah E St Johns
Inducted 2022
  • Kevin Walter Borst
  • Mary Markley
  • Virginia Miller
  • Cybele Zhang
  • Runqi Zhang
Inducted 2021
  • Barbora Davidova
  • Callum Trainor
Inducted 2020
  • John Coyle
  • Merlin MacGillivray
  • Matthew Meyer
  • Sofia Maria Jose Patiño Duque
  • Nicholas Rucker
  • Will S. Shao
  • Anna von Preyss
  • Justin Wilck
Inducted 2019
  • Sophia Barton
  • Rebecca Cheng
  • China Kantner
  • Kim Anh Ngo
  • Grant Pierce
  • Brennan Wertz
Inducted 2018
  • Pablo Aldape
  • Hannah Frakes
  • Noah Golub
  • Evelyn Ailin Li
  • Andrea Wen-Yu Lim
  • Gabriela Lomeli  
  • Julia Mendelsohn
  • Atussa H. Mohtasham
  • Robert Neff
  • Joshua Petersen
  • Kaileen Marie Pritchard
  • Sanjay Kannan
Inducted 2017
  • Eric Ballouz
  • Sophie Chase
  • J.D. Akzl Pultorak
  • Marin Tyne Reeve
  • Michael Tuschman
  • Marie Eve Vachovsky
  • Tina Ivy Vachovsky