Skip to content

All Programs & Languages

Language programs at the SLC are proficiency-oriented and standards-based. Grounded in research and theory on language and on discourse functions, this orientation is adaptive, compensatory, and developmental, not additive. Standards-based refers to the World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages that attend not only to linguistic dimensions, but also to connections that learners make between languages, cultures, and various academic areas; comparisons between languages and cultures; and a knowledge of the communities and cultures that speak a particular language.

  • American Sign Language (ASL)
  • Cherokee (First-year)
  • Czech (First-year)
  • Dutch (Second-year)
  • Filipino (First-year)
  • Hawaiian (First-year)
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian (First-year)
  • Kazakh (First-year)
  • Khmer (Second-year)
  • Lakota (First-year)
  • Modern Greek
  • Nahuatl (First- and Second-year)
  • Navajo (First-year)
  • Polish (First-year)
  • Punjabi (First-year)
  • Quechua (First-year)
  • Romanian (First-year)
  • Sanskrit (First-year)
  • Ukrainian (First-year)
  • Vietnamese (First-year)
  • Yup'ik (First-year)